Assisted Living

Assisted Living is a licensed residential setting that provides 24-hour care and supervision to seniors who need assistance, but do not require around the clock nursing care. Assisted Living communities provide assistance with activities of daily living, medication management, social activities, housekeeping, meals, transportation, and may offer dementia care programs and health-related services. Assisted Living services promote maximum independence and dignity for each resident.

Acceptance & Retention Guidelines

Regulations identify specific resident acceptance and retention guidelines that must be followed by the Assisted Living community. For example:

  • Caregivers cannot administer medications, but can assist with self-administration. Only licensed professionals may administer medications.
  • No resident may be accepted and retained if they have active communicable tuberculosis.
  • No resident may be accepted and retained if they have an ongoing behavior, caused by a mental disorder that would upset the general resident group.

Prohibited Conditions

In addition to these acceptance requirements, there are certain conditions that are prohibited in Assisted Living. These prohibited conditions include:

  • Stage 3 and 4 pressure sores (dermal ulcers)
  • Gastronomy care
  • Naso-gastric tubes
  • Staph infection or other serious infection
  • Dependence on other to perform all activities of daily living for them.
  • Tracheotomies

Restricted Health Conditions

Restricted health conditions may be allowed if the resident can self manage the condition or if the Assisted Living community meets additional regulatory and staffing requirements. If the following conditions, please check with the Assisted Living community regarding their ability to meet that person’s needs.

  • Administration of oxygen
  • Catheter care
  • Colostomy/Ileostomy
  • Contractures
  • Diabetes
  • Enemas, suppositories, and/or fecal impaction removal
  • Incontinence of bowel and/or bladder
  • Injections
  • Intermitted Positive Pressure Breathing Machine
  • Stage 1 & 2 pressure sores (dermal ulcers)
  • Wound care

Provide Dementia Care

Not all Assisted Living communities provide dementia care. Seniors with a diagnosis of dementia may be accepted to or retained in those Assisted Living communities that meet additional regulatory requirements:

  • Enhanced Plan of Operation
  • Appropriate fire clearance
  • Disaster plan specifically addressing the safety of residents with dementia
  • Additional staff training
  • Additional physical plant requirements

These restrictions do not apply to residents diagnosed with Mild Cognitive Impairment.

Definition of a “Bedridden” Resident

Not all Assisted Living communities can accept and retain permanently “bedridden” residents. Bedridden individuals are defined as being unable to transfer independently or unable to reposition independently (HSC 1569.72). An Assisted Living community must obtain an appropriate fire clearance and be able to meet the needs of the resident in order to accept and retain residents in order to accept and retain residents who are “bedridden.” (Less than 60 days) this may include a resident receiving hospice care.

Hospice Services

Assisted Living communities are permitted to retain residents who receive hospice services if a hospice waiver has been granted by the Department of Social Services and additional regulatory requirements are met (Sections 87632 & 87633).

Transferring a Resident appropriate

If a resident’s needs grow beyond the scope of the license, an Assisted Living community is required to relocate him/her. It is important that prospective residents know this is a possibility.


Call (661) 395-5800